To-Do List Mania

I’m not a fan of New Year’s Resolutions. I’m a huge fan of check lists. So this year I made a New Years checklist. The list is full of things I want to accomplish in 2016. Everything from visiting family in Oregon to organizing the closet in our spare bedroom/office/storage room to walking the dog every day.

I’m not crazy enough to try and attack every single thing all at once. I have devised a roll-out plan!

This month I’m working on flossing more, and getting more water in. Plus the Whole30 and now my new laundry habit, which four days in has yielded one full load of laundry done from start to finish (this is HUGE, people!). I’ve created a January project list as well which includes re-organizing some kitchen cabinets (done), cleaning out my spare bedroom closet (scheduled for January 18th), making a budget (done), and cleaning out my breezeway (waiting on a non-frigid day that I’m home with time to spare. Most likely I’ll be scrambling to get this one done on January 31st as I’m guessing our Spring in January days have left for good at this point.)

I’ll make a February project list in a week or so.

Also I created a daily checklist. Have I mentioned I love lists? Like I said, I’m only focusing on a few things at a time; however, I’m keeping track of everything as I go, regardless of whether its a top priority or not. I figure this will ensure everything is fresh in my mind as I go about each day.

Screen Shot 2016-01-13

To date I have not walked the dog* or done a minute of cardio. But, that’s fine (For me, at least. I’m not sure what JD has to say about it). This is a year-long project. My goal is to get better every week. I’m not going to be perfect. Life isn’t going to be perfect. But life will feel better I’m drinking enough water, paying off my credit card, and walking the dog (someday).

In the end the purpose of all of this is simply to feel like I am in control of my life, not the other way around. And the purpose of that is to feel comfortable making time for the bigger things like re-painting my bedroom and taking a vacation and spending time with my new nephew, none of which will happen if I’m buried under the mountain of little tasks which have added up. Well, maybe they could happen but I’m fairly certain a major meltdown would be imminent if I went on vacation with more debt than I had coming into 2016 and without cleaning the cat boxes.**

Am I making myself sound crazy? Probably. But honestly, I think there are many more out-of-control-feeling, list-making freaks out there than we know about. I hope they are reading this.

And I’m going back to checking things off of my to-do list now.

*Before anyone freaks out on me – rest assured we have a plenty big fenced-in yard for the dog to roam, plus he and I run around the house like idiots for at least ten minutes after I get home every night. The dog is not neglected and he gets his exercise.

**For the record, I have no clue how you parents handle things. I can’t even manage to clean the goddamn litter box. I can’t imagine being responsible for another human life AND flossing every day.

Leave a Reply

