Pride and Gratefulness – Thanksgiving Thoughts

A few days ago, I posted about being “lucky” for having such a thoughtful man in my life. In a way I am very lucky; however, he wouldn’t be in my life if he didn’t think I were worth being in his. I have to earn his love, respect, trust, and time. He doesn’t just give it to me for no good reason.

Oftentimes I wind up frustrated during this time of year, listening to everyone talk about what they are grateful for as if their situations have absolutely nothing to do with their own actions and everything to do with “Luck.”

I could say that I’m thankful for my wonderful friends and family. But really, I’m proud of myself for choosing wonderful people to surround myself with. I’m proud of myself for being the type of friend and family member who earns a place in these wonderful peoples’ lives. It doesn’t happen by chance.

I could say that I’m thankful for my health. But really, I’m proud of myself for choosing to be a healthy person, even when it’s not easy. I’m proud of myself for taking the time to go to the doctor and for eating well and staying active. It doesn’t happen by chance.

I could say that I’m thankful for having a good job. But really, I’m proud of myself for the fact that I’m not afraid to work hard and that I don’t feel entitled to my job or my pay. I’m proud of myself for brining enough value to an organization to earn my position and my salary. It doesn’t happen by chance.

I could say that I’m thankful for my happy, healthy, loving relationship with my fantastic partner in crime. But really, I’m proud of myself for putting in the constant effort it takes to keep a happy, healthy, loving relationship going. I am proud that I am the type of person he chooses to be with. A relationship like the one we have definitely doesn’t happen by chance.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m grateful that I don’t have a debilitating (or even not-so-debilitating) disease. I’m grateful that I have not personally had to deal with any unspeakable tragedy. I’m grateful that I was born at a point in time and in a place that afford me the ability to spend my time thinking about writing this piece instead of where my next meal will come from. I’m also very grateful that the people I choose to surround myself with exist in this world and that our paths crossed for the first time at some point. In general I’m thankful for the things I benefit from which are out of my control. But honestly those things are few and far between. There is very little that is out of my control. Life does not happen by chance. It has to be worked for.

So what am I truly thankful for? On the eve of the most delicious holiday there is, and on every other day of the year, I am thankful for my ability to work for the things I am most proud of.

Also, I’m thankful for this amazing little man!

Noah

Mel and Noah

And this strange one.

JD on Couch

Leave a Reply

